DID HITLER HAVE GREAT DESIGNERS?

Started by Jordan, Sep 24, 2016, in Life Add to Reading List

1. Jordan

Jordan ⛴⛵️✈️

Sep 24, 2016
    Can good design be bad design?

Ever since I found this article a few days ago about the ethics of design and since Saturdays usually are the slowest days for SXN80, here's the article. It's a good, enjoyable read with a lot of interesting facts and thoughts.

Enjoy it!

Did Hitler have great designers? Can good design be bad design?

by Tobias van Schneider
    Self-taught Designer & Maker. Un-Employed. Founder of Semplice. Formerly Spotify
    4 days ago - 6 min read

[​IMG]

In the last couple weeks I’ve attended a couple Q&A events where I basically answer questions in front of an audience. I love doing these and usually there is nothing that surprises me. But I also noticed that at every event, there is always this one person asking some sort of passive aggressive question about design ethics. Rightfully so.

At first, I didn’t think much of it. But now, noticing the pattern I understood that it is not a question, but rather a provocation to inspire a dialogue. A dialogue we need to have, but one we rarely talk about and doesn’t fit into a 15min Q&A session.

The role as a designer, or even as an engineer has become more influential and powerful than ever. The work we do makes an impact and naturally brings up the discussion around ethics, responsibility and accountability.

It’s something I’m thinking about almost on a daily basis and today I’d like to invite you to think about it with me together.

First of all, let’s try to answer this question:
    Should design by definition always be good from an ethical standpoint? Or can there be “good” design, even though what’s achieved with it has a clearly a negative impact on humanity?

Let me give you an example.