Help I want to become a producer. I need some pro advice.

Started by BronyHomie, Feb 3, 2016, in Creative Add to Reading List

1. BronyHomie

Feb 3, 2016
    [​IMG]
    Where to begin.. Basically the thing is that a long time ago I thought to myself that I could become a producer due to the fact that I really can feel the music and I analyse the structure of the beats to the songs that I love. It's been some time since I thought about it and its haunting me more and more. I've been passionately watching videos of producers playing with their MPCs and I wanted to do some cool stuff like that. I have NO experience at all and I have NO knowledge on producing other than the fact that its f---ing awesome and producers use such things as MPCs, samples, keyboards, and producing software.

I feel like I need to mention in what direction I'd like to go as the actual producer. I like mood stuff. I'd like to make At Long Last ASAP inspired beats, Oxymoron inspired beats, Forest Hills Drive inspired stuff.. That is what I am into instrumentally at the moment. Maybe I'll drop some random trac titles that comes to my mind, which I admire as far as production is concerned: "Studio", "h--- of a Night", "Man of the year" by Schoolboy, "Holy Ghost" "Excuse Me" by ASAP, "5AM in toronto" by Drake, "Murder to excellence" by Jay/Kanye "Bad Guy" by Eminem. Hope ya get me..

Where to start? What to do first? What type of a homework do I need to get done? What type of a drum machine/controller/hardware would be the best to buy...? Please drop some knowledge good people! Thanks!
    @SXN80

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2016
    Apr 24, 2024
  2. axiom

axiom lil boosie with the wipe down

Feb 3, 2016