Swizz Vs. Streaming

Started by Swizz, Jun 5, 2016, in Life Add to Reading List

1. Swizz

Jun 5, 2016
    Alright, so here is what my situation was a month ago... (bear with me, long read)

Swizz In the Good Old Days
    *Trump voice* I had a great, big, beautiful music library. Tremendous. People tell me it's the greatest they've ever seen.
    I've been building it for about 15 years or so. Hovering around 18,000 songs of all genres, from Beethoven to Biggie. I am anal about my tagging and categorization. I use last.fm pretty religiously to capture all of my scrobbles because I'm a numbers nerd and am interested in periodically checking in on, say, my top 100 most listened to albums. All of this makes me a music nerd, absolutely, but I'm happy with it. How do I listen to my music, you ask? On a good old iPod classic. 160 gig. They don't make those things anymore, and they don't make iPods that hold that much music. So with my iPod's pending (and unfortunately, inevitable) death somewhere down the road (perhaps tomorrow, perhaps 2 years from now), I've definitely been pondering whether I would ultimately make the move to streaming, as so many others have done. Streaming is tightening its grip on music listeners and is likely to continue to do so for the foreseeable future - so what does someone with my preferences do about that?

The Game Changer
    A few weeks ago, I got an e-mail warning me to stop torrenting :'( I don't particularly want to go into the details of this. I know there are additional steps around getting caught that I could take. But, long story short, it scared me straight to the point that I decided I would no longer be torrenting movies/TV (this is why I'm not caught up on Game of Thrones :emoji_triumph:).