Young Thug [Pitchfork Interview] An Interview with JoJo Zarur, Young Thug's Stylist

Started by Narsh, Jun 10, 2015, in Young Thug Add to Reading List

1. Narsh

Jun 10, 2015
    pretty great (and short) read: http://pitchfork.com/thepitch/790-an-interview-with-jojo-zarur-young-thugs-stylist/

Pitchfork: So how did this all start?
    Joanna Zarur: I studied politics and pre-law at Stanford. I loved fashion but my parents wanted me to be a lawyer. I always did fashion on the side as my hobby. I’d make pieces for myself. One day I came to Atlanta to visit one of my friends, and that’s where I met Young Thug. He was my first client, I had never styled before. I’ve just been doing that ever since.

Pitchfork: How collaborative is your working relationship with Thug?

JZ: When I met him he was so new to everything, you know? He would tell me what he wanted, and I would tell him what I wanted. I’d come to the s---t with a bunch of clothes and he’d be like, "I’m not wearing none of that, I’m wearing the jacket that you’re wearing on right now." It was scary at first. But every s---t that I’ve worked with him I’ve learned more and by now, I know exactly what he likes.

Pitchfork: Before you started tailoring for him would Thug buy women’s clothes off the rack?

JZ: It wasn’t even the women’s section, he would go to the kid’s section and buy a kid’s dress. When I first met Young Thug, Birdman came up to me and he was like, "You need to help him." They saw potential in him, 'cause he’s really creative and different, but if you’ve seen pictures of him before, he would wear all girls clothes. People send me pictures all the time of Thug wearing a five year olds’ leopard print dress as a shirt.

Pitchfork: So how do women’s clothing and silhouettes figure into what he wears now?